Reader Spotlight: Kimie

After a brief hiatus, Reader Spotlight is back ya’ll! Cue the cheering of a mob of zealous readers. This week I introduce to you, Kimie.

Kimie 1

Kimie has a wonderful blog called titled, Marilyn Says . She’s all about encouraging women to celebrate their bodacious curves. In this day and age of body shaming and waist-training; it’s awesome to see someone being proud of the way they are and being unapologetic about it.

Meet Kimie, guys…

3 key styling tips for curvy women

  1. Don’t fall into the trap of trying to wear what looks good on someone else just because it’s trendy.  Wear what makes YOU feel beautiful.
  2. Pay attention to your undergarments, they make or break a look.
  3. Splurge for quality on your basic items.  Good fabric and cuts are worth it!

Kimie2

Have you always embraced your curves?  Unfortunately, no.  I spent more years than I would like to admit trying to starve myself to fit what I was told was beautiful.  In recent years, I’ve realized that being a woman is beautiful… being yourself is beautiful… and nothing looks better on than confidence!

Is there a celebrity you model your style after? Marilyn Monroe, she’s the namesake of my blog.

What’s your mantra when it comes to style?  If you love it, wear it.

image.jpegHow do you stay up to date on trends in fashion?  I’m in love with Instagram bloggers because they showcase so much diversity – in size, height, ethnicity, sense of style… I could go on.  I used to be a magazine junkie, but it was hard for me to recreate the outfits in ways that worked for me personally.

What’s your go-to outfit?  Black skinnies, a long top, booties and my Louis Vuitton.  I’m not afraid to mix my neutrals, I think it lends a cool vibe.

What is a fashion faux pas that you can’t stand to see? I don’t ascribe to any fashion rules, but I do have a thing about eyebrows.  Good eyebrows help make any outfit look put-together.

What’s on your Christmas list? My boyfriend and I agreed to spend our money on a trip this year instead of gifts.  We feel really blessed with everything we need, so we are focusing on experiences.  Hopefully you’ll be seeing some insta shots from somewhere romantic soon!

Kimie3.JPG

Much gratitude to Kimie for collaborating! Personally, I can’t wait to see the vacation photos to see all the wonderful frocks you wear. I hope you’re headed somewhere warm.

If you haven’t already, bookmark Kimie’s blog and follow her on IG because I said so! J/K, but seriously, she’s awe-inspiring, so you should totally follow her J

Blog: www.marilynsays.com; Insta: Instagram.com/kimiewantsdior

Leave a Reply

